Kleinburg is a village in the city of Vaughan, comprised of a narrow section of hilly landscape situated between two branches of the Humber river. The historic village is bounded by Highway 27 on the west and Stegman’s Mill Road to the east.
The settlement of many early villages in Ontario was directly related to the establishment of a local industry. Kleinburg, like many riverside villages developed around the existence of numerous mills.
In 1848, John Nicholas Kline bought 83 acres of Lot 24 in Concession 8, west of Islington Avenue. On this land, John N. Kline built a sawmill and a gristmill. Land plans from 1848 show Lot 24 in Concession 8 divided into smaller, individual, one-quarter acre lots, thus encouraging the establishment of a village core. The Kline mills not only served the local farming community, but became the impetus for a growing commercial centre.
The mills built by John N. Kline were the largest between Toronto and Barrie. Kleinburg also became popular as a resting stop for farmers or merchants on their way to, or from Toronto. The original Humber (Indian) Trail used by the early traders remained the most efficient route to Toronto. The Humber Trail in Vaughan, runs along what is today Islington Avenue and extends down to Dundas Street in the City of Toronto.
Today, the main street is lined with small shops and restaurants that are accented by luxury spas and European-inspired cafés… all of which add to Kleinburg’s unique ambiance.
Kleinburg is home to the Kortright Center for Conservation and the trails surrounding Kleinburg Village offer unique hiking opportunities along the Humber River. In the warmer months Kleinburg Village is a mecca for cyclists, hikers and families who want to spend more time outdoors.
Binder Twine Festival is held yearly in the month of September. The tradition of the Binder Twine Festival originated with Charles Shaw Jr. who, in the 1890’s, began the distribution of binder twine to the local farmers. Binder twine was used to tie together sheaves of wheat. The farmers would purchase from Charles Shaw Jr. their yearly supply of binder twine. Legend states that the Shaws gave their binder twine customers a dinner in appreciation of their business. The modest dinner eventually became a large community festival complete with games, refreshments and entertainment. The Binder Twine Festival was held once a year until 1930 and was subsequently revived in 1967.
Directly south of the village core is found the McMichael Canadian Art Collection. Originally the home of Robert and Signe McMichael this 40-acre site and log home called “Tapawingo” was donated to the Province of Ontario by the McMichaels. Since its opening in 1966, the art gallery boasts one of the finest collections of the Canadian “Group of Seven” artists, as well as numerous examples of the artwork of Canada’s Aboriginal peoples.
Public Elementary Institutions:
- Kleinburg Public School
- Ecole La Fountaine (French School)
Public Secondary Institutions:
- Emily Carr Public School (Woodbridge)
Catholic Elementary Institutions:
- Pope Francis Elementary School
- Montessori School of Kleinburg
- Kleinburg Christian Academy
- The Hill Academy (Private Secondary for student-athletes)
Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.