Caledon East is a village of approximately 5,000 located in the Town of Caledon, nestled among the picturesque Caledon hills. It is the seat of municipal government for the Town of Caledon.
The first settlers arrived in the area in the early 1820s, the earliest of whom were Elisha and Elizabeth Tarbox. They drew the land on which the future village of Caledon East sits and the settlement was known as Tarbox Corners and it later became the hamlet of Paisley.
The Hamilton & Northwestern Railway was built through the thriving village in 1877 and a Plan of Subdivision was registered that same year. In its heyday, in the late 19th century, Caledon East boasted three hotels, several general stores, livery stables, harness makers, churches, a Masonic Lodge, an Orange Lodge, a creamery and other industries typical of an Ontario village. The railway was an integral part of the village for 83 years until rail service ceased in 1960.
The Villa Caledon Inn & James McCarty Pub, just north of Caledon East, offers great food and libation all set in a historic building on a breathtaking property. Also nearby is Rock Garden Farms, a family run on-farm market offering fresh local fruit and vegetables, flowers, baked goods and an opportunity to pick-your-own.
The third weekend in June brings Caledon Day. This not-to-be-missed annual event has music, food, family activities, and a “big name” concert all topped off with an amazing fireworks display. And yes it’s (almost) free!
Public Elementary Institutions:
- Caledon East Public School
Public Secondary Institutions:
- Humberview Secondary School (Bolton)
- Mayfield Public School (Caledon)
Catholic Elementary Institutions:
- St. Cornelius Elementary School
Catholic Secondary Institutions:
- Robert F Hall Secondary School
- Headwater Hills Montessori School
- King’s College School (Just outside Bolton located in Caledon)
Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.